National Prevention Toolkit on Officer-Involved Domestic Violence

This online training, The National Prevention Toolkit on Officer-Involved Domestic Violence is a project of the Law Enforcement Families Partnership at the Institute for Family Violence Studies within Florida State University’s College of Social Work. With a generous grant from the Verizon Foundation and under the lead coordination of Karen Oehme, J.D., Institute Director, and Zachary Summerlin M.S.W., Project Coordinator, the National Prevention Toolkit leads a broad-based effort to prevent violence in the homes of criminal justice families. The entire project supports healthy families, agencies, and communities.

Without the support and guidance of a diverse group of criminal justice leaders from across the United States, this project would not be possible. Many partners have been involved. Criminal justice leadership includes the following: Chief Walter McNeil (Quincy FL Police Dept. & President, International Association of Chiefs of Police), Darrell Stephens (Executive Director, Major Cities Chiefs Association), Daphne Levenson (Alabama Association of Chiefs of Police & Gulf States Regional Center for Public Safety Innovation), Brent Stevenson (Arkansas Association of Chiefs of Police), Nina Zollo (Florida Coalition Against Domestic Violence), Jennifer Dritt and Grace Frances (Florida Council Against Sexual Violence), Cheryl DeGroff (Florida Dept. of Agricultural Law Enforcement), Timothy Mahler (Florida Dept. of Corrections), Ron Cave (Florida Dept. of Environmental Protection), Glen Hopkins and Stacy Lehman (Florida Dept. of Law Enforcement), Christina Harris (Florida Office of the Attorney General, Crime Victim Services), Amy Mercer (Florida Police Chiefs Association), Hal Johnson (Florida Police Benevolent Association), Roy Hudson (Florida Sheriffs Association), Michael Jones (Georgia Peace Officers Standards & Training Council), Ken Winter (Mississippi Association of Chiefs of Police), Kevin Campbell (Oregon Association of Chiefs of Police), Capt. Diane Russo (Florida Highway Patrol), Mark Hunter (Wisconsin Dept. of Justice), Sheriff Sadie Darnell and Laura Knudson (Alachua County [FL] Sheriff’s Office), Chief Jim Pryde (Gladstone [OR] Police Dept.), Chief Ken Miller (Greensboro [NC] Police Dept.), Ret. Chief Jay Romine (Holmes Beach [FL] Police Dept.), Jim White (National City [CA] Police Dept.), Chief Dennis Jones and Carol Hendrix (Tallahassee [FL] Police Dept.), Chief Mat Workman (Warrenton [OR] Police Dept.), and Julie Smith and Samantha Yakal-Kremski (Verizon Foundation). Faculty, staff, students, and alumni of Florida State University have provided crucial support at different junctures, alumni Karey S. Johnson II (FSU ’07), Matthew Byrge, M.S.W. (FSU ’09), Casey McLaughlin (FSU ’09), Jim Murdaugh (FSU ’05; President, Tallahassee Community College); FSU Faculty and Staff Mark Rodin, Tim Fordyce, and Mollie Scheiber (Seminole Productions), Jim Wilgenbusch, Ph.D. (Dept of Scientific Computing), Nat Stern, J.D. (College of Law), and Nick Mazza, Ph.D., Patricia V. Vance Professor of Social Work & Dean (College of Social Work). Graduate research assistants and community members have included College of Social Work graduate researchers Ember Maselli, Jessica Gambill, Delaney Anderson, Kimberly Qualls, Katie Linkous, Adam Hartnett, Bolivar Aguirre, Sarah Thullbery, College of Law students Chad Dunn, Andrew Deneen, and Alana Brean, and Institute supporters, Mark Stern, Sonia Crockett, J.D., and Denise Choppin.